WMU Research Guides: Health and Medicine: Blindness and low vision

Scholarly Databases

Consult additional scholarly databases in the Health Sciences on the "Find scholarly research" tab.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE, the major index to medical research, from clinical medicine to cellular and biomolecular biology. Free citations and abstracts, limited full-text. Coverage from 1893 to Current. Updated weekly.

If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with over 1,660 available in full-text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. Information dating back from 1840 to the present.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles, conference proceedings, and more in the Engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, standards, and more from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.

NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

Major Blindness and Low Vision Studies Journals

Journal of Visual Impairment & Blindness

This journal is available through several databases, with CINAHL containing the most comprehensive list of articles and abstracts. Browse electronic issues by date using WMU Library Search. Older issues may be available in print at Waldo Library or at the Zhang Legacy Collections Center.

British Journal of Visual Impairment
This is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed publication concerned with social research, policy, and practice. Subject content includes articles on visual impairment relevant to education, health, welfare, employment and the application of technology. Electronic full text available back to 1999.
Insight: Research and Practice in Visual Impairment and Blindness
Published by the Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired. Replaces the AER Journal. Articles are indexed in Medline, as well as Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. Electronic full text is available starting in 2011.
Human Factors
Human Factors: The Journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HF) is a bimonthly peer-reviewed journal presenting original works of scientific merit that contribute to the understanding and advancement of the systematic consideration of people in relation to machines, systems, tools, and environments. Human Factors highlights fundamental human capabilities, limitations, and tendencies, as well as the basics of human performance, with the goal of promoting improvements in the human-system interface that lead to safer and more effective use

Federal and State Government Resources

National Eye Institute
Information for researchers, health care professionals, public and patients, educators, and the media. Contains: clinical studies databases, NEI publications, funding, grant and contract information, National Eye Health Education Program (NEHEP) information, low vision education program information, intramural research information, and a photograph, image and video catalog.
Vision Health Initiative (CDC)
This CDC program is designed to promote vision health and quality of life for all populations, throughout all life stages, by preventing and controlling eye disease, eye injury, and vision loss resulting in disability.
Michigan Bureau of Services for Blind Persons
Formerly the "Michigan Commission for the Blind."

Ststistical Sources

National Eye Institute Statistics and Data
Collection of statistical reports and data on blindness, diseases of the eye, and other related issues.
National Center for Health Statistics
Facts and Figures on Vision Loss from the American Foundation for the Blind
Collection of statistical reports and other resources from the American Foundation for the Blind.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

For best results please use Firefox for this database.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention - Data & Statistics
Provides users with credible, reliable health statistics on topics ranging from aging and autism to obesity and smoking.

Michigan Department of Education

The Michigan Department of Education, Low-Incidence Outreach Program provides support and information to families and school districts.

Subject and Course Guides

Health and Medicine

Scholarly Databases

Major Blindness and Low Vision Studies Journals

Federal and State Government Resources

Ststistical Sources

Michigan Department of Education