WMU Research Guides: Health and Medicine: Physician Assistant

Physician assistant resources

AAPA Student Resources
The American Academy of Physician Assistants provides several education, clinical, and career resources. Membership is required to access most materials. Current students can become AAPA members at a reduced rate.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey, which replaces and contains most of the content from MD Consult, is an online search tool which brings answers from the largest collection of published medical resources in every medical and surgical specialty, and includes all MEDLINE abstracts with medical and surgical content from Elsevier. It contains comprehensive content with the most current, evidence-based answers available for all medical and surgical specialties, including over 1,000 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos.
Users who capture URLs from the Email Citations feature in ClinicalKey may have issues connecting to ClinicalKey resources from off campus with those URLs. The Email Citations URL includes a # sign, which breaks the URL and sends the user to the main ClinicalKey search page instead of to the resource. ClinicalKey is currently working on restructuring their URLs in order to fix this issue. The persistent links will work, but only if users are already logged into ClinicalKey through the proxy. Off-campus users who add the proxy prepend to links from emailed citations should make sure they are logged into ClinicalKey before copying and pasting their links into the address bar.

MPR - Physician Assistants' Edition
Provides quarterly up-to-date drug information for commonly prescribed pharmaceuticals and OTC products.

Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills by Elizabeth Burns; Kenneth Korn; James Whyte
ISBN: 0199830762
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills is a comprehensive pocket guide for medical, physician assistant, and nurse practitioner students. It is designed to help students transition from classroom to clinical internships, preceptorships, and clerkships. Providing clear and user-friendly guidance on all aspects of history taking, physical examination, common practical procedures, data interpretation and communication skills, it gives realistic advice on coping with and mastering common situations.Each systems chapter follows a structured format covering applied anatomy, history, examination, and the presentation of common and important disorders. The procedures section includes approximately forty practical procedures that the final year medical student and senior nurse are expected to perform. The section on data interpretation covers the basics of chest x-rays, abdominal x-rays, ECGs, lung function tests and several other areas that the student is expected to carry out in their early years of training.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE, the major index to medical research, from clinical medicine to cellular and biomolecular biology. Free citations and abstracts, limited full-text. Coverage from 1893 to Current. Updated weekly.

If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UptoDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full-text resource containing the latest medical information. Updated daily and peer-reviewed by physicians, it includes assessment tools, scores, scales, medical equations, Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and more.

After logging into the database using the link above, you will be asked to create an account with your WMU email and must verify your account with a code. Please check your SPAM folder before requesting a second code. You may be prompted to verify your account every 90 days.

Once your account has been verified, you can download the mobile app and log in with the username and password created upon registration.