Health and Medicine
Health data and statistics
- National Center for Health StatisticsNCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care. These data are used by policymakers in Congress and the Administration, by medical researchers, and by others in the health community. Posted reports and news releases also provide analysis of some of these statistics
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. When accessing certain data, users will be asked to either break out of the proxy and log in with their Google or Facebook account, or remain inside the proxy and create/log in with a MyData account here.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 90 billion data points from dozens of licensed and public domain datasets. Scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Results are instantaneous and can be easily exported.
Now includes State Stats, formerly on the Sage Stats platform
- UN DataSearchable interface of data collected by the United Nations organizations. Includes data from the World Health Organization.
Funding and grant-making organizations
- GrantForwardGrantForward is a database of grants from over 12,000 sponsors, which is updated daily. Search for grants by keywords and advanced filters, save favorite searches for new grant alerts, and save your favorite grants to keep track of them. Create a “Researcher Profile”. GrantForward also recommends grants based on individual CVs, past publications, and research interests.