Consult additional resources on the "Find scholarly research" tab.
Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.
Is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE, the major index to medical research, from clinical medicine to cellular and biomolecular biology. Free citations and abstracts, limited full-text. Coverage from 1893 to Current. Updated weekly.
If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window.
Provides over 715 titles in full-text from leading publications, including training videos, multicultural reports, study paths, evidence-based nursing and training content from the Joanna Briggs Institute and dissertations in nursing and related fields.
Librarians comment: For video content and study paths select the Browse tab on the search screen. Alternatively, perform your search (e.g. blood pressure) and then select the video tab on the results page.
Indexes hundreds of nursing journals and provides full-text access to over forty of these journals. Searches can be limited just to full-text or review articles. Updated daily.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with over 1,660 available in full-text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. Information dating back from 1840 to the present.
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus
ClinicalKey, which replaces and contains most of the content from MD Consult, is an online search tool which brings answers from the largest collection of published medical resources in every medical and surgical specialty, and includes all MEDLINE abstracts with medical and surgical content from Elsevier. It contains comprehensive content with the most current, evidence-based answers available for all medical and surgical specialties, including over 1,000 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos.
Users who capture URLs from the Email Citations feature in ClinicalKey may have issues connecting to ClinicalKey resources from off campus with those URLs. The Email Citations URL includes a # sign, which breaks the URL and sends the user to the main ClinicalKey search page instead of to the resource. ClinicalKey is currently working on restructuring their URLs in order to fix this issue. The persistent links will work, but only if users are already logged into ClinicalKey through the proxy. Off-campus users who add the proxy prepend to links from emailed citations should make sure they are logged into ClinicalKey before copying and pasting their links into the address bar.
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
UptoDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full-text resource containing the latest medical information. Updated daily and peer-reviewed by physicians, it includes assessment tools, scores, scales, medical equations, Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and more.
After logging into the database using the link above, you will be asked to create an account with your WMU email and must verify your account with a code. Please check your SPAM folder before requesting a second code. You may be prompted to verify your account every 90 days.
Once your account has been verified, you can download the mobile app and log in with the username and password created upon registration.
Anatomy.tv provides three-dimensional (3D), interactive models of human anatomy targeted at a variety of health profession
Ipad users will need to download the Puffin browser.
McGraw-Hill provides this set of online medical books that are both searchable and browsable for students and professionals.
This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.