Books on African American music are at these call numbers:
See also Popular Music under the Special Topics tab.
Some primary resources:
Contains reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of musical expression. Links to the audio streaming database American Song enable users to listen to music that accompanies the liner notes and album information. Users must create an account to create and access play lists.
More than 100,000 tracks of streaming audio, including songs by and about African Americans, American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Includes songs of the Civil Rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Note: Content from the former African American Song database is now in American Song.
Multimedia collections from the Library of Congress of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. Over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell, to name just a few.
A digital collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews by leaders within the black community.
Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd editionBooks about music in the U.S. are at ML 200 - ML 200.8 in General Stacks.
Multimedia collections from the Library of Congress of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. Over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell, to name just a few.
More than 100,000 tracks of streaming audio, including songs by and about African Americans, American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Includes songs of the Civil Rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Note: Content from the former African American Song database is now in American Song.
Includes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
Covers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.