Music librarianship includes people of all kinds working in institutions of many kinds--colleges, universities, conservatories, public libraries, museums, archives, symphony orchestras.
The Music Library Association offers information and support to anyone interested in the profession.
Books about music librarianship are shelved at ML 111.
Some principal resources:
American Music Librarianship by
Bibliography of resources pertaining to all aspects of music librarianship. Includes resources about specific libraries and librarians and education for music librarianship.
American Music Librarianship by
American Music Librarianship is a biographical and historical review of the musical situation in American libraries from its roots in the late 19th century to the 1980s. Beginning with the period from 1854-55 when the Boston Public Library began to buy music for its collections, Bradley tracks the development of the Music Division in the Library of Congress under the guidance of chief librarian Oscar Senneck. The opening section examines the professional careers of America's first music librarians and the subsequent development of music libraries, taken from information provided in their papers; documentation in their libraries; and from oral interviews with the librarians, their spouses and their successors. In the second and third sections, Bradley covers the librarians involved in the formulation of classification schemes and rules for cataloguing. The fourth section covers the colleagues of these pioneer librarians who are noteworthy for their own efforts on behalf of music in American libraries. The Music Library Association is reviewed in the final section, from its inception in 1931 through the activities of its professionals, to current goals. The book's appendices include tables and plates illustrative of various aspects discussed in the body of the book. A detailed index comprehends personal names, names of libraries, titles of publications, concepts and subjects. This book is a source book for all music libraries and librarians, school libraries, and music research collections.
Multimedia collections from the Library of Congress of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. Over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell, to name just a few.
Parker Library on the Web is an open source digital collection of medieval manuscripts held by the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College at Cambridge University, UK. 538 manuscripts (many of them famous) are available as high-resolution full-text with extensive tagging and complete codicological descriptions and a wide variety of features which enhance study of these materials.