Music
Books on World Music
Books about world music are at these call numbers:
- Africa: ML350
- Asia: ML330-345
- Arab countries: ML348
- Australia & Oceania: ML 360
- Europe: ML240-325
- Central America: ML330
- North America: ML200-215
- South America: ML199, 230-239
Use advanced search in Library Search with terms such as names of countries, geographical regions, ethnic groups, instruments, and the term music or folk music.
Instruments
General books on instruments are at ML460 in Reference and General Stacks. Dictionaries of instruments are in Reference at ML 102 .I5.
Some of the best sources in the library and on the Web are:
- Roderic C. Knight Musical Instrument CollectionA searchable collection of instruments at Oberlin College Conservatory of Music.
Musical Instruments of the World by Call Number: ML102.I5 M88 1997 (Reference)ISBN: 0806998474Publication Date: 1997-06-30
A Survey of Musical Instruments by Call Number: ML460.M365 S94 (Reference and General Stacks)ISBN: 0060127767Publication Date: 1975-04-01
World Music Resources
This page includes resources about the music of countries, regions, and peoples throughout the world.
Information and resources under the tabs above will also be useful, particularly: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias; Articles; Books; Audio & Video; and Interlibrary Loan.
Encyclopedias
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
The entire set of 10 print volumes is available here as a single, integrated online database. More than 9,000 pages of material and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description and images of specific musical genres, practices, performances, musicians, musical instruments, rituals, ceremonies, maps, and musical examples for further study.
- Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the WorldOnline. Also in library at Ref ML102 .P66 C66 2003
Selected Library and Web Resources
- EOL: Ethnomusicology OnlineAn online journal.
- EthnomusicologyJournal--online and in the library.
- World of MusicJournal, in library.
The Rough Guide to World Music by Call Number: ML102.W67 W67 2006ISBN: 1843535513Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Streaming Audio
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new windowExplore music from all regions and from every continent in this audio streaming database: reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Arab swing, African film, Bollywood, Indian classical, flamenco, klezmer, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new windowMore than 40,000 tracks of music and other sound, including American folk and blues idioms, American Indian, world music, jazz, children's songs, historical spoken word, and many natural and human-made sounds. Browse the collections, search for specific recordings, create playlists.
Ethnomusicology
Books on ethnomusicology are at ML 3797-3799. Here are two:
