Dictionaries of musical terms are shelved in Music & Dance Library Reference at ML 108.
Online:
Full-text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map, or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated.
This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
Included in this database are the following titles:
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
General music encyclopedias are shelved at Reference ML 100; by country, Ref ML 101; by type of music, Ref ML 102.
Covers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
The entire set of 10 print volumes is available here as a single, integrated online database. More than 9,000 pages of material and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description and images of specific musical genres, practices, performances, musicians, musical instruments, rituals, ceremonies, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Full-text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map, or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of musical topics in English. Most current edition is available in Grove Music Online (via Oxford Music Online).
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik by
Comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of musical topics in German. Comprises two sets, Sachteil (topical encyclopedia) and Personenteil (biographical encyclopedia).
First music dictionary in German, 1732 (courtesy Wikimedia Commons)