It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to resources for study and research in Music
Books on music careers are shelved at ML 3795. Some recent ones:
Beyond Sound by Scott L. PhillipsBeyond Sound is a must-read for anyone who loves music technology and wants to build a career in this competitive, fast-paced world. Author Scott L. Phillips draws on his seventeen-year career as a technology trainer and educator, and his extensive network of music technology professionals, to present an intimate view of the exciting world of music technology. The book offers an in-depth consideration of music technology education, including looks at specific programs and a clear explanation of different types of degrees. Moreover, it provides practical guidance on career preparation, including how to get a great internship, how to land that first job, and how to make connections and move up in a variety of businesses from recording to television and film to video games. And Phillips brings stories from successful professionals, who share their experiences, advice, and suggestions.
Call Number: ML3795 .P426 2013 (Music and Dance General Stacks)
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Career Opportunities in the Music Industry, Sixth EditionJump-start your career in music with this helpful career resource. Praise for the previous hardcover edition: "...a practical and concise guide...a valuable resource...recommended."—American Reference Books Annual "...organized, comprehensive, and easy to use...Highly recommended."—Choice From making and selling records to managing the technology that helps record companies and musicians create and distribute music, the music industry offers a wide variety of exciting career options. Career Opportunities in the Music Industry, Sixth Edition provides current information on more than 90 specific jobs, including job duties, salary ranges, skill and education requirements, helpful organizations, tips for entry, and much more. A valuable starting point for career research, this book offers important information about positions of interest to job seekers. Each profile features a special Career Ladder charting the path for advancement. This new edition includes updated salary ranges and employment opportunities, as well as comprehensive, updated appendixes of organizations, periodicals, associations, schools, and resources. Along with recent statistics and data, Career Opportunities in the Music Industry, Sixth Edition also contains a new appendix listing music career Web sites. New and updated career profiles include: A & R coordinator Booking agent Business manager Music journalist Publicist Record producer Recording artist Session musician Sound technician Stage manager Songwriter Tour coordinator and more.
Call Number: ML3795 .F497 2010 (Music and Dance General Stacks)
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by Tim Baskerville; David BaskervilleThe special Tenth Edition of this powerhouse bestselling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry. The breadth of coverage that this book offers is unlike that of any other resource available. Music business newcomers and professionals alike will find the book a valuable resource, whatever their specialty within the field music. It is ideal as the core textbook in courses dealing with the music business. Key features includes: * expanded and enhanced coverage of state-of-the-art technology and its implications for the music industry, including digital downloads, changing production technologies, marketing via social networking, and new distribution channels including video games * new business models and their implications including the topics of Internet outlets, the independent musician, the evolving role of producers, and satellite and Internet radio * updated information on careers * coverage of alternatives to radio airplay and to luring teens to local record stores, in light of the weakened format of radio and the disappearance of neighborhood music shops * cxamination of sophisticated marketing research tools for the industry, due to consumer clicks that illuminate customer buying behavior and changes in tastes and desires * reflection on the global shift of the music business world as it becomes less centered on American companies and culture * companion websites include password-protected Instructor Resources Site (featuring PowerPoint slides, tests, tips, and more) and an open-access Student Study Site (featuring new interactive exercises and links to material online to enhance learning).
Call Number: ML3795 .B33 2013 (Music and Dance General Stacks)
Publication Date: 2012-11-08
Music Career Advising by Eric BranscomeAs students begin finalizing college and career decisions, they are faced with tough choices that impact the next 2 to 42 years of their lives. While career decisions can be challenging for anyone, they seem more difficult for students who are considering careers in music. Although there are many viable music career options, there is considerable uncertainty regarding the types of jobs available, and the skills and other traits that help student musicians determine if they will be a good fit in their chosen careers. As a result, music students commonly feel lost regarding music career decisions, turning to parents and teachers who feel just as ill-equipped to provide insight.Music Career Advising: A Guide for Parents Students and Teachers answers the most common music career questions through research-based career advising strategies, a comprehensive inventory of music careers, bibliography of print and on-line music career resources, and additional information gathered through interviews with leading musicians in the field, and faculty members in some of the most prestigious university music programs in the country.
Call Number: ML3795 .B767 2013 (Music and Dance General Stacks)
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
The Savvy Musician by David CutlerSo you’re talented, well trained, and passionate about music. What next? The professional marketplace is flooded with outstanding musicians, forced to compete for a shrinking number of ""traditional"" opportunities. The Savvy Musician helps balance three overriding aspects of your professional musical life: (1) building a career, (2) earning a living, and (3) making a difference. Filled with clearly articulated concepts, detailed strategies, and 165 vignettes about actual musicians working to create a meaningful and prosperous career, this book examines critical elements often overlooked or misunderstood by musicians, and helps you take control of your career. Discover how to build an immediately recognizable ""brand,"" capitalize on technology#151;from Internet tools to the new recording paradigm, expand your network, and raise money to fund your dreams. The Savvy Musician is an invaluable resource for performers, composers, educators, students, administrators, industry employees, and others interested in a thriving musical future.
Call Number: ML3790 .C88 2010 (Music and Dance General Stacks)
Covers New York and the national show scene, with news, jobs, services, etc. Access to parts of site requires a subscription. Print issues available in Music and Dance Library, Current Periodicals area.