Opera scores are at the following call numbers.
M 1500 Full scores
M 1503 Piano-vocal scores
M 1507 Collections of arias
Find scores using the library catalog.
Opera librettos (texts of operas usually with English translations) are shelved ML 48, 49 and 50.
Recordings are also a good source of texts and translations.
On the Web:
Provides International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of about 5,000 art songs and 800 opera arias. “IPA Source is designed to assist singers with foreign language diction and communication. Our members can easily find the repertoire they need in our extensive catalog of 15,768 arias, art songs and liturgical texts in Italian, French, German, English, Spanish and Latin. With IPA Source, educators and artists can skip the translating and phonetic work and sing with confidence and accuracy.”
One hundred fifty-plus videos of complete opera performances, interviews, and documentaries, from the Baroque to the 20th Century. Create playlists, make and save clips, etc.
General history: ML 1700-1715; plots: MT 95; librettos: ML 48-50; production: MT 955.
Some primary resources:
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated.
This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
Included in this database are the following titles:
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Guide to the Aria Repertoire by Books on producing and directing opera are at MT 955.
