Databases A-Z: A
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
A
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new windowAcceda Noticias provides convenient access to the complete electronic editions of more than 80 Spanish-language newspapers published in major U.S. cities from Florida to California. It also includes tens of thousands of current and archived full-text articles from other news sources from across Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and Spain.
- Access to Archival Databases This link opens in a new windowAAD is a useful genealogical tool that searches archival resources for specific persons, geographical areas, organizations, or dates. AAD facilitates the search and retrieval of specific data files from the Internet, permitting display and printing of these records. It does not support statistical analysis of data.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFind full-text of current and archived state, national and international news articles in this collection of over 4500 newspapers and other news sources. It includes the majority of the top circulating U.S. newspapers, along with thousands of local and regional titles.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowThis full text archive contains several dozen resources, including several African-American Newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War collection, South Carolina newspapers, American County Histories, Twelve Years a Slave and much more.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowMcGraw-Hill provides this set of online medical books that are both searchable and browsable for students and professionals. This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new windowA collection of almost 4,000 books in the humanities from the early 20th century up to the present selected by the American Council of Learned Societies
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery. Material included as part of our subscription includes journals, magazines, newsletters and proceedings
- ACM Guide to Computing Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and accesses full text journals, books, proceedings and theses from key publishers in computing.The ACM Guide to Computing Literature is a bibliographic database integrated in the ACM Digital Library.
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new windowContains the complete texts, which were published between 1643 and 1940, of all the lives of the ancient, medieval and modern saints. Serves as an electronic index for 68 volumes of saints' lives.
- Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new windowThis searchable database provides access to AIAA Meeting Papers for the current year and five AIAA Journals.
- Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowContains reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of musical expression. Links to the audio streaming database American Song enable users to listen to music that accompanies the liner notes and album information. Users must create an account to create and access play lists.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowFull text images of articles from 281 African American newspapers like the Cleveland Gazette (1883-1945), Plaindealer (1889-1958), and Washington Bee (1882-1922). The African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 package is included as a module for the America's Historical Newspapers database and is cross-searchable with that product.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowEventually this database will contain the full-text of major 19th century African-American newspapers providing first-hand stories by way of biographies as well as statistics, essays, editorials, and advertisements serving as primary source historical documentation. Search individual newspapers or group together
- African Newspapers, 1800-1924 This link opens in a new windowOver 60 newspapers from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, including newspapers from Angola, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and other countries in sub-Saharan Africa.
- AgEconAgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
- AGRICOLA
This link opens in a new windowCovers agriculture, forestry and animal science, includes food science and nutrition. Updated monthly. - allAfrica.com This link opens in a new windowThis African news site posts over 800 stories daily in English and French and offers multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in the archive, including the Africa News Service from 1996.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of more than 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society
- American Civil War Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowThis full text database includes more than 100,000 pages written by over 2,000 persons, primarily letters and diaries from the Civil War. Also includes biographies and an extensive bibliography
- American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new windowOver 800 film scripts, as well as detailed information about the scenes, characters, and people related to the scripts. Searches can be restricted quite precisely--to criminal characters or interior urban settings in the 1950s, for example. You can also sometimes compare different versions of a film script
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowA searchable and browsable database including approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. When complete it is expected to contain more than 2000 hours of newsreel footage.
- American Memory This link opens in a new windowMultimedia collections from the Library of Congress of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. Over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell, to name just a few.
- American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA subset of the Access World News collection from NewsBank, this database consists of 3000 American newspapers. They are listed by state and are searchable individually, by state or nationally.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,500 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more.
- Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new windowMore than 100,000 tracks of streaming audio, including songs by and about African Americans, American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Includes songs of the Civil Rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Note: Content from the former African American Song database is now in American Song.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new windowSearch the Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; and Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text images of articles from early American newspapers for over 700 newspapers from 34 Eastern states, including 21 Michigan newspapers like the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-2005) and Jackson Citizen Patriot (1865-1922).
- America's News Magazines This link opens in a new windowA subset of the Access World News collection from NewsBank. Consisting of nine American news magazines.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowSeveral wide-ranging collections of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes: digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward, U.S. immigration collection, Birth, marriage and death records (SSDI), U.K. census collection; Military records, and many more.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new windowAn additional bibliography to search besides the MLA Bibliography for scholarship about English language and literature. This resource indexes research by broad subject, by chronological period, and by scholars' names. Author search is more effective than subject search.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA growing, searchable collection of over 1,300 videos covering the study of human culture and behavior including the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. This integrated website searches Ethnographic Video Volume I and Volume II
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is a single database of newsletters, bulletins, and 11 peer-reviewed journals from the American Anthropological Association. 31 publications are represented in this searchable archive. Much of the material is full-text. Coverage varies for the past 100 years up to current journal issues.
- Archive of Digital Art This link opens in a new windowDeveloped in cooperation with international media artists, researchers and institutions, the Archive of Digital Art contains over 6000 exhibits, video documentations, technical data, and more, as well as bibliographical information, exhibitions and events.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowThis index covers back issues of Art Index and includes citations from over 420 periodicals in English and other languages. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it also indexes reproductions of art works appearing in these periodicals
Database is limited to 4 simultaneous users. Please log out when finished. - Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Literary Sources brings together Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and Something About the Author into a single cross searchable platform.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Times Digital Archive, the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Womens Studies Archive. Users can also discover and analyze content in new ways.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowContains over one million art images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, intended for non-profit, scholarly or educational use. Institutions, organizations, and individuals from around the world have contributed collections to this searchable digital library. Tools are also provided to create presentations using ARTStor images combined with images from users personal collections.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowOpen access to 701,525 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThis digital library provides full text access to all ASCE Journal and Conference proceedings volumes published since 1995-96. (Some are available going back a little further.)
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowFull text of 252 plays by 42 playwrights, with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also included: selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines Coverage :1971-Current
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (Compass) This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of standards and technical information covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
Please note that we do not have online access to the previous or Redline versions. For older ASTM standards, the University Libraries has only the 2010 edition (Request the needed volumes from the Zhang Center - call number TA 401 .A653). Any other older ASTM standards, please request them through Interlibrary Loan - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowFull text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 300 journals selected by leading religion scholars. Also provides ng 1.7 million citations to journals and edited books as well as book reviews in the field of religious studies. Updated twice a year.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 240 dramatic works in streaming audio from the archive of the L.A. Theatre Works.
