It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: G
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
Database of directories with the ability to sort, export, and print results. Directories include the Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Directories in Print, Directory of Libraries and Special Information Centers, Encyclopedia of Associations, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Government Research Directory, Market Share Reporter, Publishers Directory, Research Centers Directory, and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
This directory contains thousands of listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more.
This Federal database contains the Government Accountability Office's (GAO) "blue book" reports which contain findings and recommendations to Congress. Restricted and classified products, as well as correspondence, are not included in this database. Search from 1890 to the present. Updated daily.
The entire set of 10 print volumes is available here as a single, integrated online database. More than 9,000 pages of material and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description and images of specific musical genres, practices, performances, musicians, musical instruments, rituals, ceremonies, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Major index for geology and earth sciences which includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage of North America: 1666-present, International: 1933-present. Over 100,000 new records added annually.
Provides full-text searching and integrated access to selected high-impact, peer-reviewed scholarly journals and eBooks produced by leading geoscientific organizations and publishers. Contains books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Enhanced with a map based toolset to discover data, (including cross sections, charts, tables, figures) map results, and filter using zoom tools, and facets.
Search the full text of books, find full text of the books where copyright laws allow, see a few pages, or find where you can purchase or borrow the particular book. Google is working with publishers and libraries to provide access to as many books as possible.
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :
1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (ArticleLinker)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "ArticleLinker" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.
In this resource you'll find research facilities and programs of the U.S. and Canadian federal governments. Listings include e-mail addresses, information on patents available for licensing and expanded coverage of key personal contact. It also includes a master index of names, keywords and agencies; a geographic index with telephone and fax numbers; and a comprehensive subject index that includes more than 3,600 terms and cross-references.
GPO Access offers free searching and access to the full text of the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, U.S. Public Laws, the Budget of the United States, GAO Reports, and other major U.S. government documents.
GPO Monthly Catalog (Government Printing Office)
An index to US government publications, including reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments, such as the Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Online coverage from 1976 - present. Updated monthly. Print: Z 1223 .A13 - .A18 (Documents, Ref.) 1895-1995
A multidisciplinary database of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental topics. Subjects covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
A collaboration between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association that promotes electronic publication of prize-winning scholarly books. Besides the text of the books extra features include hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, and related Web sites.