It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: M
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Includes over 4 million page images, representing close to 13,000 volumes of primary source materials, including books and periodicals. Cornell University has focused on the major journal literature of the period. The University of Michigan has focused on monographs.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
This interactive language learning system provides lessons in practical conversation skills for dozens of foreign languages, providing tutorials for using several different languages. Users can also watch full length feature films and other foreign language multimedia in full with a choice of subtitles or in engage mode, which also includes grammar and cultural lessons. Great preparation for study abroad and accessible on your iPhone, iTouch, or iPad (click i for instructions) or through Bronco NetID when away. Create an individual profile to track your progress.
Users can use Mango Languages online on their iPhone, iTouch, or iPad. In order to access Mango Languages tutorials on your mobile device, you need to:
1. Connect to the Mango Languages from the Libraries A-Z list and create a personal account.
2. Download the free Mango Languages app from the iTunes Store and load it onto your device.
3. Log into the mobile app using your personal account information.
4. Once the lessons have been downloaded to your device, you can learn at your own pace, with or without an internet connection.
This database compiles business information using primary and secondary research to create 10,000 company, 2,000 industry, and 50 country profiles. MarketLine includes daily updates of relevant news, comments and analysis, company history, and a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) within company profiles.
Masterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.
Search for images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information for a wide variety of ceramics, fibers, metals, textiles, and other materials
ClinicalKey, which replaces and contains most of the content from MD Consult, is an online search tool which brings answers from the largest collection of published medical resources in every medical and surgical specialty, and includes all MEDLINE abstracts with medical and surgical content from Elsevier. It contains comprehensive content with the most current, evidence-based answers available for all medical and surgical specialties, including over 1000 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos.
A computerized medical reference and tool set encompassing a wide array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.
Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national sample of 25,000+ adults. It offers demographic, lifestyle, product usage, and media data. Access limited to 20 concurrent users
Users must register with their WMU email address and the following registration code to use the MRI Smartsystem.
2020 Registration Code: GSPM4UHV
Check your WMU email account for an email containing an account confirmation link. You must click on this link within 3 days in order for your account to be created.
Searchable collection of medieval manuscripts from 25 libraries across Europe, dating from the 13th to 16th centuries, Includes color illustrations, extensive and authoritative scholarly explanations, and maps.
More than 500 Met performances, including more than 75 past performances from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series as well as more than 400 classic full-length video and audio performances. Extra educational materials include program notes, artists interviews, quizzes, feature articles, and more.
Contains overviews, descriptions and one or more reviews of many English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, psychological traits, and related areas. Entries also give references to the print edition (s). This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Includes Mergent's Annual Reports and Moody's Manuals. Access more than 85 years of Annual Reports for companies across the globe through Mergent Archives' historical annual report collection dating back to as early as 1925. Beginning with the very first Moody's Manual published in 1909, Mergent offers you more than a century's worth of global corporate data fully digitized into high quality, PDF formatted documents.
Methods in Organic Synthesis (MOS) is an alerting service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis. It is designed with the synthetic organic chemist in mind, providing informative reaction schemes and covering new reactions and new methods.Around 200 new reaction schemes are added each month as a text-searchable database, and as a structure searchable database.
A collaboration of the Michigan Association of Media in Education, the Library of Michigan and the Michigan Center for the Book, this database allows basic and advanced searching and browsing for books written and/or illustrated by Michigan residents.
From the Library of Michigan, this site is a gateway to MeLCat,the statewide library catalog, MeL Databases for the residents of Michigan, MeL Michigana (digital archives) and recommended links on a variety of subjects.
Search or browse a growing collection of full text newspapers from Michigan covering the 19th and early 20th centuries, included the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1922), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), Muskegon Chronicle (1869-1922), and more.
Search or browse more than 80 newspapers from Michigan, including the Kalamazoo Gazette, Detroit News, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, the Western Herald, and more. Starting coverage dates vary from 1995 to 2014.
Full text access to over 430,000 primary source documents and abstract access to 560,000 documents relevant to study of the Middle East and Africa. Includes the complete backfile of the Middle East Abstracts and Index. Coverage of traditional sources dates to 1986, while some primary source materials date as far back as the Ptolemaic period.
This connects three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as providing links to other digital collections and catalogs.
Search over 7,000 stocks and 13,000 mutual funds to determine where to invest your money. Identify stocks and funds that meet your criteria and read reports prepared by Morningstar analysts. Obtain an analysis of your current portfolio or see how the stocks and funds you select work together to form a balanced portfolio. This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Access the content of all the databases below--audio, video, scores and text--through one centralized interface: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library , Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound