It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: S
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
Contains detailed summaries and citations to more than 85,000 conference papers and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) since 1906, with full text of conference papers going back to 1998. Covers research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Note that the SAE standards are not available in full text in this database.
Find, visualize and export state data on social and public affairs topics like health care, crime, education and more. Find data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years, analyze the data as a chart, map or graphic and save your unique image or download the data to Excel.
A single site for searching Salem Press from the Salem Literature and Salem History Sites. This database includes the complete full text of the print reference sets including Milestone Documents in American History, Great Events and Lives from History, and the 20th century American decades books such as The Sixties in America. Also included is the complete full text of the print reference sets in the Critical Insights Authors and Works Series, Masterplots - 4th edition and Magill's Literary Annual.
Searchable database that includes the complete full text of the print reference sets including Milestone Documents in American History, Great Events and Lives from History, and the 20th century American decades books such as The Sixties in America.
Searchable database that includes the complete full text of the print reference sets: Critical Insights: Isabel Allende, Critical Insights: James Baldwin, Critical Insights: Charles Dickens, Critical Insights: Tennessee Williams, Critical Insights: One Hundred Years of Solitude, Critical Insights: Things Fall Apart, Masterplots - 4th edition.
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.
Here you can read full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full text articles. Science Direct can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.
Weekly tracking of hot or emerging papers and research fronts in this free Web resource for science metrics and analysis. Includes interviews, first-person essays, podcasts, and profiles from scientists, journals, institutions, and nations, selected using Essential Science IndicatorsSM from Thomson Reuters.
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: Users viewing this database through Internet Explorer or Safari will experience a loss of functionality. Please use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
USASearch is a program of General Services Administration’s Office of Citizen Services and Information Technology (OCSIT). For over ten years, USASearch has improved the general public’s access to government information by providing hosted search services for more than 300 government affiliate organizations, sharing APIs and web services, and operating the U.S. government’s official search engine at Search.USA.gov.
Services: Statistics on Value Added and Employment
(CD-ROM, Waldo Library, First Floor, Reference Area)
This is National Accounts Based Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Inlcudes comparative data on international economic trends, statistics on output (gross value added) and employment service activities for all OECD countries, with data often going back to the 1970s.
Short Story Index is a detailed index of more than 76,500 stories from more than 4,025 collections. This reference database grows by 4,000 records each year, and includes coverage dating back to 1982.
Also available in Central Reference (1953-2008) Z 5917 .S5 .C62 (Ref) This subscription is limited to one simultaneous user. Please logout when finished.
A bibliographic index of short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. In-depth subject indexing helps to find stories by topics and themes, locales of where the story takes place, genre, and by people. The Retrospective Index contains bibliographic entries on more than 140,000 short stories published over 150 years and citations to short stories published from the 1830s to the 1980s.
More than 40,000 tracks of music and other sound, including American folk and blues idioms, American Indian, world music, jazz, children's songs, historical spoken word, and many natural and human-made sounds. Browse the collections, search for specific recordings, create playlists.
Create maps and reports using current and historical census data and demographic information to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout (Sign out) when finished.
The SSRN eLibrary is a free database consisting of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 517,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 433,600 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
All scholars may submit papers for free, and author-submitted content is downloadable at no charge by users world-wide. Create a free membership here. By creating an account, users can easily share and revise their research; view and download the latest research in your field; and interact with thousands of scholars worldwide.
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
This database provides biographical information about authors and illustrators of books for young people. The emphasis is on English-speaking writers, or international writers whose works are available in English translation. Each author entry has an address, bibliography, photograph, and citations for further research.
This collection contains a wealth of information on colonial and early American History and genealogy, and provides an accurate glimpse of life in South Carolina and America, with additional coverage of events in Europe, during the early days of this country. Coverage is from 1732-1780.
An international index to more than 700,000 articles, thesis and other records in athletic training, fitness, recreation, sport and sport management. Miscellaneous record/monograph coverage: 1800-present. Updated monthly.
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States, with some international content. It is also used as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. Each table will identify the original agency that produced the data. Use the agency web link to find additional information on your topic. Coverage varies. Coverage is from 2013-present.
Provides access to more than 90 billion data points from dozens of licensed and public domain datasets. Scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Results are instantaneous and can be easily exported.
This digital library contains 100 engineering and computer science books in PDF format. Subjects covered include artificial intelligence, biomedical engineering, communication networks, energy, entrepreneurship, robotics, and solid state materials. The individual lectures or books can be saved, printed or emailed.