WMU Research Guides: Databases A-Z: N

N

National Anti-Slavery Standard
The National Anti-Slavery Standard was a weekly newspaper published concurrently in New York City and Philadelphia (1840–1870), which featured writings from influential abolitionists fighting for suffrage, equality and emancipation. It contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world.
National Citizen and Ballot Box
The National Citizen and Ballot Box was a monthly journal deeply involved in the roots of the American feminist movement. It was owned and edited by Matilda Joslyn Gage, American women’s rights advocate, who helped to lead and publicize the suffrage movement in the United States. Gage bought and renamed the Ballot Box, a publication of a Toledo, Ohio suffrage association, in 1878. Gage became the National Citizen and Ballot Box’s primary editor for the next three years, producing and publishing essays on a wide range of issues. Each edition included regular columns about prominent women in history and female inventors. Coverage from 1876 to 1881.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Notice:
The Department of Justice's Office of Justice Programs is currently reviewing its websites and materials in accordance with recent Executive Orders and related guidance. During this review, some pages and publications will be unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

This federally funded powerhouse of CJ services and reference information summarizes over 160,000 publications in its abstracts database, including government reports, books, articles, and published and unpublished research reports. An exclusively full-text NCJRS Virtual Library is also available. Most items not available full-text online can be purchased from NCJRS. A full array of services can be had at no cost by registering online.
National Geographic Magazine Archive
Browse or search the full-text archive of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 until 2015. Includes over 200,000 pages of text and photographs providing in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment.
Native Health Database
Index with abstracts of documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Coverage from 1657 to Current.
Naxos Music Library
Access almost 700,000 tracks from over 47,000 CDs from 300 labels, including the entire Naxos catalog. Includes classical, world, folk, and new age. Features text resources such as music terms, a pronunciation guide, opera synopses and libretti, historical notes, and more.
New York Times with Index (1851-2021)
Search the full-text of this newspaper by keywords or names, or limit your search to type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, birth and marriage notices, front page stories, display ads, legal notices, obituaries and the weather.
Newsbank
Provides the Access World News Research Collection with full-text articles from over 4500 U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. There is access to America's Historical Newspapers, as well as Hot Topics and Special Reports on current issues in the news.
Newsstream - US
US Newsstream provides access to over 900 newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from 1980 to the present. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal in addition to collections of local and regional newspapers.
Times Digital Archive and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive on NewsVault (Gale)
Simultaneously search the Times Digital Archive (coverage: 1785-2019) and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (coverage: 1902-2019).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Millions of pages in twelve major collections. Includes the British Home Office Papers and Records from 1783-1894; documents and records of the United States 19th century involvement with China, Japan, Korea, and the Philippines; full-text of Corvey's archive of 9,500 English, French and German Romantic-era texts; British 19th century scores, scripts, playbills; journals and monographs which track the connection between major episodes in the hard and social sciences; photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas on many key areas of research.
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Features primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Including government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more.

British Politics and Society
Includes papers of British statesmen, Home Office records, ordnance surveys, working class autobiographies, and other unique collections.

British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, are sourced from the British Library and other institutions.

Children's Literature and Childhood
Contains material from archives as well as university, public, and national libraries. Collections from the UK National Archives feature sources on child welfare and reform, education, juvenile health, and juvenile crime and detention; documents sourced from the British Library include monographs related to education as well as fiction and periodicals for children; the materials from the American Antiquarian Society include educational texts, reports on child welfare, and children's literature from various immigrant communities in the United States.
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important archives of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere--including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more--with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.

Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
Contains material from seven source libraries in the United States, England, and Canada.
Photography: The World Through the Lens
Assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically-illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed.

Religion, Reform, and Society
Contains material from a wealth of source libraries, including the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, Massachusetts, the Massachusetts Historical Society, World Microfilms, and six other libraries.
Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925
The rise of secular culture, the transportation and information revolution, the competition for empire, modern warfare, and modern notions of the self and the body are all topics with links to “pure science.” Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 helps researchers place science, along with medicine and technology, in the mainstream of historical study.

Women: Transnational Networks
Focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late 18th century to the era of suffrage in the early 20th century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest)
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, comprising tens of millions of records and providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. Users can query its many component indexes simultaneously or can conduct more detailed research using search pages for specific indexes or content types.
Includes Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog.
NLM Gateway
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Gateway provides links to its catalog, Medline/PubMed, Medline Plus and other databases. A global search can be done across all of these.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
A digital collection of letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories of immigrants to America and Canada. The 100,000 pages of materials cover 1784 to 2004 and represent immigrants from many countries.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time.
Theatre in Context (Alexander Street)
Search or Browse a database covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
North American Women's Drama
Over 1,500 plays by 330 playwrights, with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. 30% of the plays have not been published before. Also included: selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Over 150,000 pages of published and unpublished diaries and letters by over 1,300 women in the US and Canada from the colonial period to 1950. All ethnic groups, ages, classes, and geographical regions are included. Users can search by keyword, time period, place, marital status, nationality, and other variables.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards; even books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list.
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Provides over 715 titles in full-text from leading publications, including training videos, multicultural reports, study paths, evidence-based nursing and training content from the Joanna Briggs Institute and dissertations in nursing and related fields.
Librarians comment: For video content and study paths select the Browse tab on the search screen. Alternatively, perform your search (e.g. blood pressure) and then select the video tab on the results page.

Subject and Course Guides

Databases A-Z: N

N