It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: H
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
HathiTrust is a collaborative repository of over 10 million volumes, 2.5 million in the public domain and fully accessible. Digitized content from research libraries, the Google Books project and the Internet Archive initiative are included. All public domain titles not digitzed by Google and in the HathiTrust Digital Library are available for full PDF download. Works in copyright may be searched with only the page number and number of hits given.
Although WMU is not in partnership with HathiTrust at this time, all users may create a guest "friend" account to use collection builder tools. Instructions are here.
Indexes a wide variety of publications devoted to evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students. Coverage: 1985-present. Updated quarterly. This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
HeinOnline consists of major full text legal collections including: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Code, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, and the Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law. These collections are image-based and fully-searchable, with comprehensive coverage of each title, some going back to the 18th century.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1847-1993)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1992)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times w/ Index (1851-2013)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-2000)
A full-text collection of 14 U.S. newspapers, including five African American newspapers along with the Detroit Free Press, New York Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Christian Science Monitor, covering much of the 19th century to the late 20th century. One can limit searches by type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.
This database indexes more than 600 travel and tourism journals relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism including the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, and technology.
Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 112,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.