It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: W
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
(U.S. edition) A U.S. daily financial newspaper that covers news and trends relating to business, industry, finance, the economy, and international commerce. Provides extensive price and other data for securities, commodity, options, futures, foreign exchange, and money markets. Full text from 1984-present .
Search the full-text of this newspaper by keywords or names, or limit your search to type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, birth and marriage notices, front page stories, display ads, legal notices, obituaries and the weather.
Includes private and public companies listing for each, when available: year founded, description of products/services offered, approximate sales, number of employees, SIC codes, officers, fax number, stock exchange, ticker symbol, whether private or public, or a subsidiary, and lists the companies by location (zip code).
In addition the directory contains ranked lists of the 1,000 largest privately held companies, and the 1000 largest public companies. Ranks companies by sales within four-digit SIC, within four-digit SIC code for states, and by sales within six digit NAICS.
Westlaw's research service redesigned for students. Legal sources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, United States Code Annotated (USCA), Federal and State court cases, American Law Reports (ALR), American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, Legal Guides, and more. Also includes more than 700 law reviews and journals.
Citations sent using Westlaw's email option does not provide a permalink that can be used to link directly to a case. Users are encouraged to log into Westlaw and then search for the citation(s) received via email, and when sending cases, to select the radio button for "documents" instead of "list of items" when using the email option.
This collection of about 1200 online journals focuses mostly on the sciences, but includes some business, education, and social science journals. Access back to 1945. This collection now includes journals formerly listed on Blackwell Synergy.
A collection of full text books, pamphlets, articles, documents and images of American women's reform movements over the last 400 years including special subjects such as African-American Women and the Equal Rights Debate in the 1920s. Includes the bibliographic dictionary Notable American Women 1907-1950. Printing performance is sporadic. We recommend printing from the Safari browser only.
A collection containing women's-related periodicals that span the 18th through the 19th century and represent a broad range of subjects and places of publication. Contains over 200 periodicals and spans the Colonial through the Jacksonian Eras. Includes titles such as The Lady's Monthly Museum or Polite Repository of Amusement and Instruction, The Ladies' Companion, The Lady's Book, and Margret Fuller's Transcendentalist publication, The Dial.
The Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 represents a broad range of subjects and places of publications, reflective of the turbulent yet optimistic years of Westward expansion and war for women. Includes periodicals from a number of female authors and publishers who helped to cement the foundations of women's active role in American social and religious movements. Notable long-running publications include Dickens' Household Words and Valuable Whispers, Godey's Lady's Book, The Ladies Repository, and Peterson's Magazine.
Women’s Wear Daily Archive is the digitized source of the entire run of Women’s Wear Daily. From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, issues are reproduced from cover to cover and presented with searchable text. All editorial content and pictorial features are captured as separate documents. Company and brand names in advertisements have been assigned to the document records where possible and contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers and stylists, are indexed. Subject coverage: retail business, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, marketing and advertising.
A searchable database of more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups covering the time period 1960 to one year from today. Data from the World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
World Bank InfoFinder for iPhone and iPad is available in the app store. More information Here
Searchable and browsable collection of videos about all historical eras in World History. This growing collection contains approximately 1,000 titles and more than 700 hours of streaming video documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Contains millions of records in hundreds of languages. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog. (Library Search)
Nonbook materials include (among other publication formats) the titles of journals and magazines, manuscripts, maps, electronic resources, websites, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, sound recordings, conference proceedings, and videotapes.