It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: L
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
Includes preparation materials and interactive practice exams for numerous standardized tests such as MEAP, GED, SAT, and GRE. Also includes tests for professions such as law enforcement and real estate. The Job & Career Accelerator tool provides step-by-step job search assistance. This free service does require that you register a username or email address. Michigan residents can access this database from the Michigan eLibrary by logging on with a Michigan ID or driver's license number.
Major Laws is a subset of ProQuest Legislative Insight, which provides resources for studying the process by which a bill becomes a law. Includes digital full text primary source documents related to major laws enacted through US history including the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, USA Patriot Act, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and many others.
LGBTQ+ Source contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus.
Search "The Liberator" . A weekly newspaper published by William Lloyd Garrison in Boston, Massachusetts. This newspaper was known for its anti-slavery views and importance in the development of the abolitionist movement. Coverage is from 1831 to 1865.
Searchable collection of over one million digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
The Library of Latin Texts includes classical texts from the Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana, patristic and medieval texts from the Corpus Christianorum as well as the Vulgate, the Ecumenical Councils and Gratian's Decretum. Click Enter Databases, then click on the link to Library of Latin Texts. Part of the Brepolis Latin package.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Free index with abstracts for more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings, with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s.
Issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer, The Lily, the first newspaper for women, was initially published as a temperance journal for home distribution due to women’s exclusion from membership in temperance societies and other reform activities. Bloomer sold The Lily in 1854 but remained a contributing editor for the two years The Lily survived after she sold it. The Lily published its final issue December 15, 1856.
The Linguistic Bibliography Online is published by the Permanent International Committee of Linguists under the auspices of the International Council of Philosophy and Humanistic Studies of UNESCO. It contains coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages, with special attention paid to endangered and extinct languages.
Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Children's Literature Review. This database can be cross searched with the database Something About the Author .
Full-text biographies, critical essays and reviews, poems, short stories and plays of more than 130,000 international authors. This database contains the full content of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and selections from Children's Literature Review, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and 11 other literary criticism series.