It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: D
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
Video streaming of over 1,100 dance productions and documentaries. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Make your own playlists and save clips.
Provides full text information on local and regional business news including information on corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Contains business information not typically found in national news sources with news and analysis, information on local markets, major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and area business publications. Coverage: 1985 to date.
DemographicsNow provides users with ready-to-use and customizable demographic data reports that include population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses and retail sales, consumer expenditures and more.
Search and Browse the Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres . Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Covers the vocabulary of the first centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language (A-G is currently available). The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of English vocabulary.
This database gathers 3037 individual texts comprising a complete record of Old English. Arranged as a contextual dictionary, words or word fragment searches lead to hits everywhere these appear in an OE text.
Directories in Print describes approximately 16,000 active rosters, guides and other print and non-print address lists published in the United States and worldwide. Directories in Print also provides information on the status of defunct and out-of-print directories and includes entries for some publications that do not contain directory-type information but are nevertheless likely to be looked for here. Directories in Print covers a wide range of subjects, including general business; manufacturing industries and commercial services; banking, insurance and financial services; advertising, marketing and public relations; health care services; law, military and government; associations, philanthropy, ethnic groups and religion; and many others.
Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers provides detailed contact and descriptive information on subject-specific resource collections maintained by various government agencies, businesses, publishers, educational and nonprofit organizations, and associations around the world. This resource includes Geographic and Personnel Indexes, provides access to profiled libraries by geographic region, as well as by the professional staff that are cited in each listing.
Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full text for dissertations being added continually. Most since 1997 are full text, though some authors choose to not make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but check out Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.
Search or browse over 60,000 primary documentary sources dealing with the debate over the ratification of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights. Includes Convention and legislative records, private papers, newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets.
The DOE Green Energy product has been discontinued. All of the information in DOE Green Energy can be found in SciTech Connect. Provided by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science and Technical Information.
SciTech Connect is a publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results database which includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. A consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database, SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
Includes DSM-V (the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, clinicians and researchers in the United States. Part of Psychiatry Online which also provides Journals, Textbooks, Self Assessments, Diagnosis, Treatments, casebooks and complete access to the DSM, 4th edition, including revisions.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool including summaries for more than 3,200 topics and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis evaluating the content for clinical relevance and scientific validity.
Users who download the DynaMed app for their tablet or smart phone must also send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org from your WMU email address to get login credentials.