It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: I
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
This collection of eBooks contains over 270 current and classic civil engineering handbooks and manuals that cover bridge and building design and construction. Included are the complete "Designer's Guides" to the Eurocodes.
Full-text access to all journals, transactions, and magazines published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers with coverage from 1988, with select content published since 1872; Includes IEEE conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
This database allows users to search more than 1 million standards from over 370 standards organizations. Faculty and graduate students only may request individual standards for purchase through approval by the engineering librarian. Users need to set up a personal account to order standards. Undergraduate students need to contact the engineering librarian email@example.com for assistance.
Contains full-text articles from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include sources from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. Can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. Also contains a sample selection of 300 Union and 300 Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries.
Contains over 1,000,000 incipits covering Latin literature from the Pre-classical Age to the Renaissance. Click Enter Databases, then then click on the link to In Principio. This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Records over 23,000 Christian art works in worldwide collections from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. Records include subject and stylistic descriptors, school, object type, bibliographies and picture references, cross references, locations, and digital images, when available.(May not work from off campus.)
Indexes and abstracts over 30,000 publications, with some access to full-text on a pay-per-view basis. Search for the journal title using the Journal Search on the Library Home Page before purchasing any articles.
Full text articles of titles subscribed to by the WMU Libraries and tables of contents access to all of their published titles. Create an account for e-mail alerting, to save searches or maintain a personal file of articles.
The Instructional Image Catalog is a digital library of art images licensed to University Libraries. Use the Instructional Image Catalog to locate art images for instruction and research. Search for images by creator, title, keyword, date, medium, culture, stylistic period, subject, and more. Search results display a thumbnail image and brief descriptive text. To learn more about an image, double-click the thumbnail; a larger image is then displayed with the catalog record appearing on the left. Instructional Image Catalog uses the LUNA Insight image database system and incorporates image group saving, presentation, and export features. All images are copyrighted and licensed to University Libraries for classroom, private study, and research use by members of the WMU community. BroncoNetID required for login.
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. When accessing certain data, users will be asked to either break out of the proxy and log in with their Google or Facebook account, or remain inside the proxy and create/log in with a MyData account here.
Includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Comprehensive histories of the world's largest and most influential public and private companies. Typically covered: background and history; merger and acquisition history; impact of sales and marketing campaigns; effectiveness of executive leadership; expansions and strategies; labor/management actions; stock exchanges, ticker symbols and industries; and principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units and competitors. Included is a list of subsidiary companies, and sources for further reading.
This database provides coverage of dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, and more, indexes more than 250 performing arts journals and provides full text for more than 100 journals. Coverage varies.
An index to articles in journals and other publications about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa within the dates 400-1500 AD. Coverage: 1967-present. To search, click Enter Databases, then click on the link to the database. Print: Z 6203 .I62x (Ref) 1967-2004, This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
This database provides statistics on international and domestic finances of countries since 1948. Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.