It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A-Z: E
This is an alphabetical list of subscribed electronic resources and selected free electronic resources acquired by the University Libraries and are available to WMU Faculty, Staff, and Students.
Search a database of almanacs, broadsides, laws, maps, narratives, pamphlets, speeches, textbooks, treaties and more from the 17th and 18th centuries. The full text can be browsed by genre, subject, author, history of printing, place of publication and language. Early American Imprints. Series I and II can be searched simultaneously here.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American imprints published in the early part of the 19th century.Including many state papers and early government materials that chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation. Based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Early Anerican Imprints. Series I and II can be searched simultaneously here.
This full text database includes more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and other accounts of traders, explorers, native peoples, and others mainly from 1474-1912. Indexed by place, year, peoples, cultural events, and other categories.
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. The collection is indexed at the British Library website. The index (in print) and images (on microfilm) are also available in Waldo Library.
Early world of learning provides age-appropriate reference content and skill building activities for students from preschool through the early elementary grades. Educators can follow a suggested sequence of activities and supplemental materials that correlate to curriculum standards in the Educator Center.
Beginning Reader-Friendly. Fiction and nonfiction books you can read online - for school and for fun. Search for what you want. Picture books, homework topics, languages learning. Online help available too.
A collection of over 140,000 books from over 150 publishers covering all academic disciplines. Mobile device users can download the BlueFire reader for offline reading on iOS and Android devices, or use Adobe Digital Editions on Desktop or laptop computers.
For additional instruction about using eBook Central, click here.
A full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Searchable and browsable database of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Videos include teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Index of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and citations for approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
The electronic Human Relations Area Files is a full-text cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life written by social scientists, travelers and missionaries. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Updated annually.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The collection bears witness to The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
Full-text journal articles in international management, organizational development, library and information management, leadership, quality and operations management, engineering, applied science and technology. Access content from 1967 to the present. Updated weekly.
A mobile app for Emerald products is available on iTunes for the iPhone or iPad, for additional details click here.
A guide to the definitions and steps used in the nutrition care process: Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring & Evaluation from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.). To access the guide click on the "eNCPT" link on the top toolbar. This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
This reference covers multinational and national membership organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership. Entries provide the names of directors, executive officers or other personal contacts; telephone, fax, telex, electronic mail, websites and bulletin boards; the group's history, governance, staff, membership, budget and affiliations; the goals and activities of the international organization, including research, awards, certification, education, lobbying and other important activities; and publication and convention information.
Detailed information on more than 22,500 nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Every entry offers a wealth of valuable data, typically including the organization's complete name, address and phone number together with the primary official's name and title; fax number, when available; founding date, purpose, activities and dues; national and international conferences; and more.
detailed and comprehensive information on nonprofit membership organizations. It covers associations and societies that are organized and function at the regional (both interstate and intrastate), state, county, city, neighborhood, and local levels. The geographic scope of each volume takes into account factors such as shared regional characteristics or interests, and geography, allowing users to acquire only those volumes that will meet their information needs.
A bibliographic guide to thousands of live, print and electronic sources of information covering more than 1,100 subjects of particular interest to business professionals. Citations cover abstracts and indexes; almanacs and yearbooks; bibliographies; CD-ROM and online databases; directories; encyclopedias and dictionaries; periodicals and newspapers; research centers and institutes; statistics sources; trade and professional societies; and many other sources of business information for more than 35,000 business information sources.
The Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations contains entries which describe the activities and personnel of groups and committees that function to advise the President of the United States and various departments and bureaus of the federal government, as well as detailed information about historically significant committees. Complete contact information is provided including fax numbers, e-mail and URL addresses when available. Features five indexes - alphabetical and keyword; personnel; publications and reports; organizations by federal department or agency; and organizations by presidential administration.
Search for information on various engineering failures, such as Three Mile Island, the Challenger disaster, the Titanic sinking, and others. Includes video documentation, research monographs and accident reports, personal testimonials, simulations, blueprints, and more.
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
Érudit provides access to several types of documents in the humanities and social sciences, as well as the natural science disciplines: academic journals, e-books, proceedings, theses and other documents and data. A specific editorial process is applied to each type, and a search tool allows all types of documents in the entire collection to be queried, while also presenting results in the various categories.
Online version of The Europa World Year Book and the nine Europa Regional Surveys of the World. This database is updated regularly with economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, and includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of more than 2,000 international organizations.
This database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.